Feb fashion.

Rachel-Zoe1

Food, fashion and festivals are my forte. I ain’t going to pretend that I’m an avid follower of London Fashion Week, neither am I going to confess that I religiously purchase editions of Vogue. More to the point, I wouldn’t even say I have an ‘eye’ for fashion. I just like nice clothes – simples.

Ok, like might be an understatement. I’ve got one little confession – I spend nearly every penny I earn in Zara. Just call me Isla Fisher. Quirky shoes (or, undertaker shoes which I often refer to them as), modish coats and drool-at-the-mouth bags. Zara wins me over every time. I’m not obsessed,  I just thrive on being well-dressed.

Far from a fashion snob, Primark is definitely my next go to. The majority of the time when people ask me where my clothes are from, I say Primark. Approximately 9 times out of 10, no-one believes me. Disgusted by Topshop’s extortionate prices and irritating staff, I refuse to spend any of my hard-earned cash in there. Don’t get me wrong, I do really like some of their stuff, but I can almost guarantee that Primark are going to release some sort of replica in a few weeks. So, my word of advice is always to hold fire.

January and February are meant to be lull periods for going out. Apparently, I’m the exception to that rule. The past few weeks, I’ve been fully booked every weekend. That’s very unlike me – I don’t even own a diary because my plans are usually few and far between. Let me get one thing straight, I don’t buy a new outfit every time I go out – I wish I could. Luckily, I have four sisters who have the same size clothes and feet  (winner winner, chicken dinner). Well, it’s all fun and games until your favourite clothes go missing. I’m not mentioning any names (Cough, Caitlin, Cough).

So, here’s a few of my favourite garments:

70’s chic.

70's girl 2

Top; Forever 21 (£10.99), Trousers (or pants if you’re from t’north); Zara (£29.99), Shoes; New Look (£14.99),  Belt; New Look (£2.99)

A 70’s inspired look; the era of retro prints, flamboyant flares and the hippie look. It’s all making a comeback and at a fighting force too. Not only echoed through fashion, the music scene is increasingly becoming infiltrated with 70’s vibes. You only have to listen to the 1975’s new album to know that. So, just as you thought the days of Mods, Hippies and Teddy Boys were long gone, it might be time to rummage in your parents old boxes. Back to the outfit,  for little 5’3 me it’s very rare that I can find an outfit that accentuates my legs and can make me look incredibly taller. These bell-bottom pants were the answer to all my prayers and made me feel like a giant the whole night. Fi-Fi-Fo-Fum, pass me that gin and pass me that rum.

 

Jumpin’ Jack.

jumpsuit

Jumpsuit; New Look (£22.99),   Belt; New Look (£2.99),   Shoes; Next (£35)

Resembling a jumping jack, you’d think I was auditioning for a part in the circus. Invented in the early 1900’s, the jumpsuit is far from a new kid on the block. Equally as classy yet a little more conservative than a dress, the jumpsuit is ideal for a casual or plush night out. Sometimes time isn’t always on our side and tanning your legs isn’t on your day’s agenda,  so it’s always a bonus to find a gorgeous outfit that requires such minimal effort. Although the New Look jumpsuit comes with a tie belt, I’m a huge fan of top and trouser compilations, so I added my own leather belt to create that illusion. Psst… these shoes are the comfiest ones I’ve worn to date.

Formal Finery.

IMG_1799

Dress; Zara (£24.99),  Coat; Topshop Outlet (£7),  Shoes; Zara (£19.99)

They say it’s always about first impressions. I always think if you can present yourself well, then it shows you’re serious. Oh yeah, I’m also a firm believer that shoes are an imperative part of any outfit. If you’re anything like me, shoes are the first thing I notice about a person. If they are shiny, little bit wacky and little out of the ordinary, you can be sure you’ll have my attention. Purchased in Zara’s Boxing day sales (Of Course…), these shiny patent brogues go everywhere with me. Often worn with a casual pair of black skinny jeans, these shoes can spruce a dull outfit up in a matter of seconds. Oversized boyfriend coats are literally the yin to my yang and I wouldn’t be without them – surprisingly they never let me down.

Until next time…

The Mad Grad.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

