You’ve got the Job!

beginning

Reverse back a few weeks – to the point where I was having a mid-life crisis. I’d been rejected from a job I thought fit the bill for me. Now I realise how very wrong I was. Yesterday, I attended an interview at the Solihull Observer for the role of a News reporter/editor. Call me stubborn, persistent or maybe even lucky – but I got offered it within half an hour of the interview.

Alright, it’s only a local paper and the salary isn’t the best – but it’s a start. I’ve got one foot on the ladder and I’m going to climb. It’s the start of an adventure. They’ve even offered to support me through my NCTJ exams to become an accredited journalist. Who’d have thought it?

Of Course, I’m petrified to leave Waitrose – a job I’ve been settled in for 5 years – and it’ll be strange leaving everything behind. But, I know it’s something I needed to do (and soon). It’s a family. I’ve grown so much in the 5 years of working there (and I’m not just talking about height). Yet, I’m sure they’re all grateful that they’ll never have to hear my awful jokes and face my dry humour again. Joking aside, I think I’m more devastated about the fact I’m losing my discount card – no more treats for me.

I’m excited for the future and determined to make something of myself. As I proved to myself, anything is possible. I can’t finish up without making a reference to my guide-to-life-film, Confessions of a Shopaholic. Rebecca Bloomwood (who is just as ditzy as me) worked her way up from Successful Savings to Alette magazine. So, who know’s.

Watch this space.

The Mad Grad. 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

