Gym and Tonic – if only it was as good as the real thing.

quote

 

So, I’ve finally turned into the person. I’ve purchased a gym membership – ‘cancel any time’ – of course and I’ve planned a weekly routine. Send help.

Screw the beach body, Kim K bum and abs that look like baking trays – I’m doing it to keep fit. It’s so easy to get caught up in the work-life routine and forget about your own goals. It’s important to always put time aside for yourself. Whether it’s a stroll round a park, an hour watching your favourite TV series or a quick workout at the gym – sometimes you just need to ease your foot off the gas for a bit.

Let’s get one thing straight – I’m far from a ‘gym-head’. I’m that person who stares at a machine for ten minutes to figure out how it works. I’m also that person who can barely lift the lightest weights. Oh yeah, I’m also that person who has a half-hearted attempt a gym wardrobe. I’d much rather sweat in an Arctic Monkeys top. That way, at least if I can’t lift, people know I’ve got good music taste. Every cloud, ey?

I doubt I’ll be entering the World Championship body-building tournament or running a marathon any time soon. But, it’s all about one step at a time. I’ve always been a keen runner. Ok, keen and running should never be used in the same sentence. Let’s re-phrase that. I have two left feet, so I never made it as a dancer. And, height isn’t on my side, so I never made it as a netball player. So, I guess you could say running was a last resort. I was tactical – the 200m sprint was my forte. It was neither a sprint or trek.

Ok, I know I say I’m only joining the gym to wind down after work, yet I do have one goal in mind. I’ve done Race for Life, I’ve competed for Sparkhill Harriers and I’ve played for Sheffield Hallam’s Gaelic football team. But, there is still one thing to tick off – Mudderella. So, let’s see how that plans out.

Watch this space.

The Mad Grad

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

